Michigan DUI Attorneys

Michigan Drunk Driving Lawyer | Novi DUI Attorney


MICHIGAN DRUNK DRIVING LAWYER

EXPERIENCED MICHIGAN DUI LAWYERS Under Michigan law, if you are 21 years of age or older and you operate a motor vehicle while your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher, you can be charged with operating while intoxicated (OWI). Under Michigan’s Zero Tolerance law, it is a misdemeanor for a driver under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02%.

Penalties For Michigan Drunk Driving

Michigan’s drunk driving laws carry some extreme penalties: Being arrested for operating while intoxicated can result in a criminal conviction, jail time, 6 points on your driving record, a suspended driver’s license and up to 360 hours of community service. When faced with such severe punishment, it is important to have an experienced Michigan DUI defense attorney like Jeffrey Buehner defending you.

Free Consultation

Call us now at 248-865-9640
or use the form below




Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship. *Required

A lot of decent, hardworking people get arrested for DUI. Being charged with drunk driving doesn’t make you a bad person, but a drunk driving conviction can have adverse consequences beyond the courtroom. Mr. Buehner has defended many people charged with DUI and he has been able to find solutions, whether through trial or plea agreement, that allowed his clients to avoid or minimize the harshest consequences of a DUI conviction.

Additionally, Mr. Buehner has been able help many clients get their driver’s licenses reinstated. Whether through hardship petitions or license restoration appeals at the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division, he has had tremendous success in getting clients back on the road.

Mr. Buehner is a former Assistant Oakland County Prosecutor who has worked in the criminal justice system for over 20 years. He’s helped a lot of people charged with DUI and he can help you, too. For a free phone consultation with an experienced Michigan DUI defense attorney, call Jeffrey Buehner at (248) 865-9640 or fill out our Free Consultation form.

Michigan DUI Offenses

“Super drunk” (.17 BAC or higher)

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • $200 to $700 fine
  • Mandatory alcohol treatment for one year
  • One year license suspension; eligible for restricted after 45 day suspension if blood alcohol ignition interlock device installed in vehicle.
  • Six points on driving record
  • Court may immobilize vehicle up to 180 days

Operating While Intoxicated – Child Endangerment

  • Misdemeanor
  • Jail from 5 days up to 1 year
  • 30 to 60 days community service
  • Up to $1,000 fine
  • 180 license suspension (restricted only available after 90 days)
  • Six points on driving record
  • Court may immobilize vehicle up to 180 days

Operating While Intoxicated

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • $100 to $500 fine
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • 30 Day license suspension and 150 day license restriction
  • Six points on driving record
  • Court may immobilize vehicle up to 180 days

Operating While Impaired

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • $300 fine
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • 90 day license restriction
  • Four points on driving record
  • Court may immobilize vehicle up to 180 days

Operating While Intoxicated 2nd Offense

  • Misdemeanor
  • Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year
  • $200 to $1,000 fine
  • 30 to 90 days of community service
  • Minimum one year license revocation
  • License plate confiscation
  • 90-180 days of vehicle immobilization unless the vehicle is forfeited
  • Court may order vehicle forfeited

Operating While Impaired 2nd Offense

  • Misdemeanor
  • Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year
  • $200 to $1,000 fine
  • 30 to 90 days of community service
  • Minimum one year license revocation
  • License plate confiscation
  • 90-180 days of vehicle immobilization unless the vehicle is forfeited
  • Court may order vehicle forfeited

Operating While Intoxicated 3rd Offense

  • Felony
  • Imprisonment from 30 days in jail up to 5 years in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • 30 to 180 days of community service
  • Up to a 5 year license revocation
  • License plate confiscation
  • 1 to 3 years of vehicle immobilization unless vehicle is forfeited
  • Vehicle registration denial
  • Court may order vehicle forfeited

Operating While Impaired 3rd Offense

  • Felony
  • Imprisonment from 30 days in jail up to 5 years in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • 30 to 180 days of community service
  • Up to a 5 year license revocation
  • License plate confiscation
  • 1 to 3 years of vehicle immobilization unless vehicle is forfeited
  • Vehicle registration denial
  • Court may order vehicle forfeited

Zero Tolerance

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to $250 fine or up to 60 days community service, or both
  • 30 days restricted license